The Economics Program          

Welcome to the Economics Program, in the Department of Physical and Computational Sciences. 

We are the home of the hardest working students on campus.  In addition to many all-campus awards our graduates included the valedictorians for 2004 and 2005.  Also, the valedictorians for 2009, 2010, and 2014 had nearly half of their required major courses in our program.

For a list of current and future courses (the next two years), go here
For date information about senior projects, visit here.


2015/8/26: Congratulations to Dakota Maravelis.  He is the SenioHonsowetz, Maravelis, Csaplarr Fellow.  He is pictured between Professor Honsowetz and Professor Csaplar.

2015/8/24: Classes started today.  We welcome Aaron Honsowetz as the second economist.  He has some great plans for the future.  We look forward to implementing some of them.

2015/5/8: Everybody in the Economics Program who took comps passed them.  Congratulations!  Good luck to everybody else on finals.

2015/4/16: We cleaned up at the Honors Day Awards.  In addition to Allison Snyder being the first person to ever win both the W.
RanProf. Csaplar and Allison Snyderdolph Cooey Value Added Award for getting the most value added out of her time her and the Kirkpatrick Award for being the best Economics major, we had several other awards.  There are five all-campus awards.  Even though we have only a few majors, we one two of them and a third winner took about half of his courses required by the major in our program.  Allison Snyder (a Senior majoring in International Economics pictured with Professor Wilf Csaplar Jr.) won the John R. Taylor Award for exemplifying the liberals tradition.  Dakota Maravelis (a Junior majoring in International Economics pictured with Professor Marc Petersen) won the W. F. Kennedy Prize for being the outstanding Junior Man.  Neil Verley (a Senior Finance major who had to take about half of his required  classes in Economics) won The Francis O. Carfer Prize for outstanding Senior. 
Prof. Petersen & Dakota Maravelis

For older news, click here.

Updated August 2015 by Webmaster.